Our Mission

To encourage the Jewish community to build a more just Milwaukee through study, action, and civic engagement.

Our Guiding Values

Love your neighbor as yourself.

Do not stand idly by.

Tzedakah: Righteous behavior, thoughtful giving.

Our Vision

Tikkun Ha-Ir of Milwaukee engages our local Jewish community to be active, thoughtful Milwaukeeans by working with other Jewish and local service organizations to alleviate the pressing needs of those most vulnerable in our community.

Sponsoring Organizations

Tikkun Ha-ir is proud to have the support of the following local organizations:

Hillel Milwaukee
Lake Park Synagogue
Congregation Sinai
Congregation Emanu-El B’ne Jeshurun
Congregation Shalom
Congregation Beth Israel Ner Tamid
Congregation Anshai Lebowitz

Board of Directors

President – Jim Hagen
Vice President – Aviva Bergtrom
Treasurer – David Zaks
Secretary – Reesa Gottschalk

Members At Large –

Tobey Libber
Laura Emir
Paula Lorant
Peggi Glaser
Jill Weinshel
Jodie Honigman

Delegates –

CEEBJ – Reenie Kavalar (Alternate – Debbie Carter Berkson)
Lake Park Synagogue – Susan Ellman
Cong. Shir Hadash – Rachel Tolkan
Cong. Beth Israel Ner Tamid – Cindy Cooper
Temple Menorah – Richard Bensman (Alternate – Minnie Kahn)
Cong. Sinai – Donna Neubauer (Alternate – Naomi Soifer)
Cong. Anshai Lebowitz – Ruth Ann Guthmann (Alternate – Maggie Treager)
Congregation Shalom – Deb Oconnor (Alternate – Emily Bernstein-Handler)

Rabbinical Rep. – Marc Berkson

Past Presidents Ex Officio –

Lew Friedland
Gigi Pomerantz
Rea Katz

Tikkun Ha-Ir is an independent 501(c)3.

Scroll to top